Storytelling as Evangelism

May 24, 2016   9:00 pm – 10:00 pm  EDT

Please note that this webinar will be taking place at 6 PM PT (9 PM ET).

In his sermon at his installation last November, Presiding Bishop Michael B. Curry preached about the need for Episcopalians to find a way of doing evangelism that is “genuine and authentic to us instead of one that imitates or judges anyone else… that is as much about listening and learning from the story of who God is in another person’s life as it is about sharing our own story.” In this webinar, ECF Fellow Edmund Harris will explore the theme of storytelling as evangelism. Drawing on his experiences of leading the parish where he serves as rector in a congregational storytelling project over the past year, Edmund will invite participants to consider how sharing stories in their own church contexts might enable people to engage in evangelism that is, to quote Bishop Curry, “genuine and authentic.” Designed for lay leaders, clergy and anyone who is interested in thinking creatively about evangelism in 2016, this webinar will consider practices, tools, and resources for inviting and equipping congregations to share their stories of faith.

Presented by the Rev. Edmund Harris, ECF Fellow and rector of St. Peter’s Episcopal Church in Seattle, WA